Questions you don’t anticipate

My food-allergic son is 9 (9 and 1/2 if you ask him). It’s an age where boys think about “like-liking” people.

When I put my son to bed at night, we talk about his day and things he’s feeling. We’ve talked about the girls he “like-likes” before, mostly because he wants to buy his favorite a pink snow boarding helmet for Christmas (don’t ask).

Tonight he came up with a question I didn’t expect. He wanted to know if he could ever kiss a girl or get married because he had food allergies. After my heart broke, I told him that when someone loves you they will make sure your safe. I hope I’m right.

Leave a Reply

