“Yes, it’s that serious.”

“Yes, it’s that serious.”

How many times have you said that to someone in a restaurant?

When I travel, even without my son, I always tell the server that I have a peanut allergy. First, I like to see how they handle it in case I’m ever there with my son. Second, g-d forbid I need to leave earlier than planned and I’m peanut-contaminated.

At the Hyatt in Pittsburgh, I told my waitress that I had a peanut allergy and that none of my food could contain peanuts. I ordered an asian salad with dressing on the side.

Right as I was taking my first bite, the waitress wanted to know if my peanut allergy was “really that bad.” Why asked I? Apparently my dressing “likely” contained peanuts.

Moral of the story- ask and ask again. And make sure your server knows that yes, it’s that serious.

Leave a Reply

