The “cheese experience”

I love finding new, allergy free delights.   And by delights I mean things that taste good.  Or at least sound like they taste good.

So, I’m reading this month’s issue of Allergic Living magazine and I’m looking through the “Allergy Shots” section where new products are highlighted.  One of the products this month is “Daiya Wedges.”   This product is apparently free of dairy, soy, gluten, nuts, eggs and tree nuts.  That is all good.  However, this product also appears to be free of food (and I suspect taste).  According to the website, here are the ingredients for “cheddar”:

Ingredients

Filtered water, tapioca and /or arrowroot flours, non-GMO expeller pressed canola and /or non-GMO expeller pressed safflower oil, coconut oil, pea protein, salt, inactive yeast, vegan natural flavors, vegetable glycerin, xanthan gum, citric acid (for flavor), annatto, titanium dioxide (a naturally occurring mineral).

Yum! This sounds like something I’d bathe with, but not eat.  I admit I haven’t tried this product, but frankly I’m afraid to.  If one of you brave souls craves the “cheese experience” so badly that you’re willing to try this, please do so and report back.  I’m just not that courageous.

http://www.daiyafoods.com/our-products/cheddar

One comment

  1. Gotta love the and/or ingredients. And who says you haven’t tried this before? You probably have just not in its edible state.

Leave a Reply

